## **Town Board Meeting**

## Organizational Meeting January 5, 2017

The Town Board of the Town of Stuyvesant held their yearly organizational meeting on Thursday, January 5, 2017 at 7:00pm at the Town Hall. In attendance were Supervisor Ron Knott, Councilman Brian Chittenden, Councilwoman Kelley Williams, Councilman Edward Scott, Councilman Tom Burrall, Town Clerk Melissa Naegeli and Highway Superintendent Chuck Stiffler. Supervisor Knott called the meeting to order at 7:00pm and reviewed the following proposed organizational chart:

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING – JANUARY 2016	
Official Depository: National Union Bank of Kinderhook;	Official Newspaper: The Register Star, The Columbia Paper
Official Meeting Night: 2 <sup>nd</sup> Thursday of each Month @ 7:00pm	Official Working Night: 1st Thursday of each month
Official Mileage: \$.50 per mile	Deputy Supervisor: Kelley Williams
Attorney for the Town: Tal Rappleyea, Esq.	Building Inspector: Gerald Ennis
Zoning Enforcement Officer: Gerald Ennis	Town Engineer: Morris Associates @ \$85.00/hour
Budget Director: Supervisor Ron Knott	Deputy Highway Superintendent: Steve Montie
Deputy Town Clerk:	Registrar of Vital Statistics: Melissa Naegeli, Town Clerk
Deputy Registrar of Vital Statistics:	Records Management Officer: Melissa Naegeli, Town Clerk
Town Historian: Juanita Knott	Sole Assessor: Howard Gleason, Jr./Clerk: Catherine Knott
Dog Control Officer: Wes Powell	,
Columbia Co. Traffic Safety Board:	Columbia Co. Council of Aging Delegate: Ida Leiser Rich Moran
Assessment Board of Review: Cheryl Trowbridge	Chairman Planning Board: Gale Bury
Member – Planning Board: Marilyn Burch	Alternate Member Planning Board: Charlene Leach
Chairman – Zoning Board of Appeals: Jeff Jensen	Member of Zoning Board:
Deputy Chairman-Zoning Board of appeals: Margaret Pino	Deputy Chairman Planning Board: Harold Leiser
Alternate Member of Zoning Board: Steve Montie	Secretary to Planning & Zoning Boards: Doreen Danforth
Custodian of Town Office: Joe Scrum	Emergency Coordinator:
Town Accountant: Stickler, Torchia, Allen & Churhill CPA's Town Bookeeper: Doreen Danforth	Highway Superintendent: Allowed to purchase tools and equipment under \$3000 without prior Town Board approval
Highway Superintendent: Allowed to purchase sand and gravel at prevailing rates	Highway Superintendent: Allowed to rent County equipment at prevailing rate
Supervisor: Ability to invest idle funds in CDs and Money Market Accounts	Supervisor: Ability to transfer funds from Money Market account to trust & agency or general checking
<b>Supervisor:</b> Able to pay utility and health insurance bills without prior approval of Town Board	Official Polling Places: Town Hall
<b>Salaries:</b> Elected & appointed officials to be paid as indicated in the Budget.	Gasoline, Fuel Oil& Propane- County Bids
1) Sr. MEO: \$20.03/hour 2) MEO-1: \$17.85/hour	Planning and zoning board members' salaries;
3) MEO-2: \$19.52/hour 4) Per Diem: \$15.30Driver	Chairs\$50.00 per meeting
5) Labor: \$12.75	Members\$35.00 per meeting
6) Deputy Highway Super: additional .50/hour	BAR members\$11.00 per hour
7) Head Mechanic : additional .50/hour	After 4hrs \$7.00 per hour
Rules of Procedure at Board Meetings: Adopt 2015 procedures	Compensatory Time for the Highway Department:  Not more than 120 hours can be accumulated
Supervisor Appoint Town Board Committee Chairpersons:	Policy Adoptions:
Recreation Committee: Kelley Williams	1. Procurement Policy 2016
Public Safety: Tom Burrall	2. Investment Policy
Town Hall Committee: Edward Scott, Tom Burrall	3. Standard Workday Resolution 2017
Cemetery Committee: Edward Scott, Cathy Knott	4. Personnel Policy 2016
Railroad Restoration Committee: Ronald Knott	5. Type Reserve – Highway
Co-chair- Marilyn Burch	6. Special Reserve – Buildings-Depot
Trails Committee: Lee Jamison	7. Capital Reserve – Buildings
Bridge Committee: Ron Knott	
Highway Dept: Brian Chittenden	

## Organizational Meeting January 5, 2017

Supervisor Knott reviewed the Organizational Chart. The Columbia Paper was added as an official paper; Paul Harpis did not satisfy training requirements and therefore will not be reappointed to the Zoning Board. There are vacancies on both the Planning and Zoning Boards. Melissa Naegeli agreed to fill the position of Emergency Coordinator.

Christian Sweningson and Mr. Laxman (Riverview St) have agreed to work on suggestions for updating the Town website.

A motion to adopt the Organizational Chart as prepared was made by Ed Scott. The motion was seconded by Tom Burrall and was passed by unanimous vote.

A motion to adopt the Workday Resolution was made by Kelley Williams, seconded by Ed Scott, and passed by unanimous vote. The Resolution will be posted in the Town Clerk's Office for 30 days and filed with the NYS Retirement System.

A motion to pay the bills submitted was made by Ed Scott, seconded by Kelley Williams, and passed by unanimous vote.

Supervisor Knott announced that Tal Rapplyea is forwarding our proposed Zoning Law changes to the NYS Dept. of Ag & Markets for their information.

There will be a public meeting with the EPA regarding the Dewey-Loeffler landfill on January 25, 2017 at 6pm at St. Mary's in Nassau.

A motion to adjourn the Organizational Meeting was made by Councilman Edward Scott, seconded by Councilwoman Kelley Williams and was passed by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 7:35pm

Respectfully submitted

Melissa A. Naegeli, RMC Town Clerk