# TOWN OF STUYVESANT TOWN BOARD MEETING JANUARY 5, 2023

The Town Board of the Town of Stuyvesant held their 2023 Organizational Meeting and monthly business meeting on Thursday, January 5, 2022. In attendance were Supervisor Ron Knott; Board members Kelley Williams, Tom Burrall, and Brian Chittenden; Highway Superintendent Joe Scrum; and Town Clerk Melissa Naegeli. Councilman David Quinn was not in attendance.

Supervisor Knott called the meeting to order at 7:00pm and opened with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

Supervisor Knott review the 2023 Organizational Plan attached to these minutes. (\*the Organizational Chart in the minutes have been updated to reflect to the requested edit by Councilman Tom Burrall regarding the Official Newspaper being the Register Star)

A motion to adopt the proposed 2023 Organizational Plan was made by Tom Burrall, with the correction to "Register Star". The motion was seconded by Brian Chittenden and was approved by unanimous vote.

A motion to accept the minutes of the previous meeting was made by Kelley Williams. The motion was seconded by Brian Chittenden and was approved by unanimous vote.

### Correspondence

A letter from Pivot Energy regarding building a solar project on Hummel Park

### Old Business

Supervisor Knott reported that the new alarm system has been installed.

Supervisor Knott presented the following Budget Amendment for approval:

2022 Budget Amendment #5		
	Increase	Decrease
Revenue		
DA3501 CHiPS	86,594.72	
Appropriations		
DA5112.2	86,594.72	
DA5110.4 (Repairs)		59,068.27
DA5112.2	15,178.01	
DA5112.4 (RR)	43,890.26	
A7110.4		

The Clerk called a roll call vote:

	Yea	Nay	<u>Absent</u>
Supervisor Ron Knott	Х		
Kelley Williams	Х		
Tom Burrall	Х		
Brian Chittenden	Х		
David Quinn			Х

The Amendment was adopted by a unanimous vote.

Supervisor Knott reviewed the facts of tax bills and what drives the changes.

A motion as made by Brian Chittenden to approve the bills as presented. The motion was seconded by Tom Burrall and was approved by unanimous vote.

### Board Comment

Supervisor Knott asked the Board if there any additional comments.

Kelley Williams reported that the Zoning Revision Committee will meet on January 12, 2023 at 6:30pm.

Supervisor Knott reported that he had been assigned as the Co-Chair for the new County Housing Task Force. The CEDC will be hiring a coordinator. The County Board of Supervisors adopted a resolution to continue with upgrades to County buildings and this year they will be working on the DSS building.

Supervisor Knott reviewed 2022 highlights:

- Solar Regulations. The Zoning Revision Committee will be reviewing "transient housing" language in the Zoning Law in 2023;
- Improved the energy efficiency in the Town buildings by replacing lights with LED. In 2023 the street lights will be replaced to further reduced costs;
- Heat pumps and new gas furnaces will be installed in the town hall for improved energy efficiency;
- Website upgrades, he and Melissa will be meeting with a new website designer and welcome user friendly suggestions;
- Bicentennial Committee is working on plans for events throughout the coming year.

# **Public Comments**

There were no comments from the public.

With no further business before the Board, a motion to adjourn was made by Kelley Williams. The motion was seconded by Brian Chittenden and was approved by unanimous vote.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING – JANUARY 2023		
Official Depository: Greene County Bank	Official Newspaper: Johnson Newspaper Corp	
<b>Official Meeting Night:</b> 2 <sup>nd</sup> Thursday of each Month @ 7:00pm	<i>Official Working Night:</i> 1 <sup>st</sup> Thursday of each month	
Official Mileage: \$.65.5 per mile	Deputy Supervisor: Kelley Williams	
Attorney for the Town: Tal Rappleyea, Esq.	Building Inspector: Kevin Haberland	
Zoning Enforcement Officer: Kevin Haberland	Town Engineer: CPL	
Budget Officer: Supervisor Ron Knott	Deputy Highway Superintendent: Matt Bellerose	
Deputy Town Clerk:	Registrar of Vital Statistics: Melissa Naegeli, Town Clerk	
Deputy Registrar of Vital Statistics:	Records Management Officer: Melissa Naegeli, Town Clerk	
Town Historian: Juanita Knott	Sole Assessor: Lynn Hotaling. /Clerk: Catherine Knott	
Dog Control Officer: Maggie Banker	Deputy Historian: Cathy Knott	
Columbia Co. Traffic Safety Board: Charles Stiffler	Columbia Co. Council of Aging Delegate: Marilyn Burch Rich Moran	
Assessment Board of Review: Cheryl Trowbridge	Chairman Planning Board: Tim Hotaling	
Member – Planning Board: Harold Leiser	Alternate Member Planning Board: Mike Stasi	
Chairman – Zoning Board of Appeals: Margaret	Member of Zoning Board: Margaret Pino	
Pino		
<b>Deputy Chairman-Zoning Board of appeals:</b> Steve Montie	Deputy Chairman Planning Board: Harold Leiser	
Alternate Member of Zoning Board: Rachel Samuels	Secretary to Planning & Zoning Boards: Patricia Delong	
Custodian of Town Office: Michelle Doyle	Emergency Coordinator: Bill Vick	
Town Accountant: Stickler, Torchia, Allen &	Highway Superintendent: Allowed to purchase tools and	
Churchill CPA's	equipment under \$5000 without prior Town Board approval	
Town Bookkeeper: Doreen Danforth		
Highway Superintendent: Allowed to purchase	Highway Superintendent: Allowed to rent County equipment	
sand and gravel at prevailing rates	at prevailing rate	
<i>Supervisor:</i> Ability to invest idle funds in CDs and	Supervisor: Ability to invest funds in approved Money market	
Money Market Accounts	and transfer funds from Money Market account to trust &	
Currentian Able to new stillty and bealth incurrence	agency or general checking as needed	
<i>Supervisor:</i> Able to pay utility and health insurance bills without prior approval of Town Board	Official Polling Places: Town Hall	
Salaries: Elected & appointed officials to be paid as	Gasoline, Fuel Oil& Propane- County Bids, or best value	
indicated in the Budget. Salaries for hourly staff as	Customer ruer one rropane county blus, or best value	
follows;	Planning and zoning board members' salaries;	
1) Sr. MEO: \$22.80/hour	Chairs\$50.00 per meeting	
2) MEO-1: \$20.30/hour	Members\$35.00 per meeting	
3) MEO-2: \$22.20/hour	BAR members \$15.00 per hour	
4) Part Time Labor: \$17.40 /hour	After 4hrs \$10.00 per hour	
5) Part Time Driver; \$18.50 /hour		
6) Labor : \$14.50/hour		
7) Deputy Highway Super : additional .50/hour		
8) Head Mechanic : additional .50/hour		

	<b>Compensatory Time for the Highway Department:</b> Not more than 120 hours can be accumulated
Supervisor Appoint Town Board Committee Chairpersons:	Policy Adoptions:
Recreation Committee: Kelley Williams	1. Procurement Policy 2022
Public Safety, David Quinn	2. Rules of Procedure 2018
Town Hall Committee: /Ron Knott	3. Standard Workday Resolution 2020
Cemetery Committee: Cathy Knott/ David Quinn	4. Personnel Policy 2018
Railroad Restoration Committee: Ronald Knott/Marilyn Burch	5. Type Reserve – Highway
Broadband Committee; Bill Schneider	6. Fund Balance Policy 2020
Climate Smart Community; Bill Schneider	7. Capital Reserve – Buildings